How Harry Potter Made Me A Writer

Hey guys! I’m back with another installment of Wizarding Wednesday! You all really seemed to love the first one, so I’m really excited to continue on with the series.

This week I’d like to talk to you guys about dreams.

You see, for as long as I can remember it’s been my dream to become a published author. For years I’ve been working on an array of different writing projects, from half finished novels to Doctor Who fan fiction.

Thats right. I write fan fiction, and I’m not ashamed to say it.

For me, fan fiction is a way to practice writing every day without having to worry about picky little things like characters and world building. I just get to focus on weaving pre-existing characters into original plot lines.

Its also a way for me to connect with like minded people, and get instant feedback on my writing. In the five years I’ve really been a part of the community I’ve made so many great friends, and my writing has improved substantially.

Funnily enough, I’m pretty sure that my first original piece of writing was a fan fiction. Although, at age six, I’m pretty sure had no idea what fan fiction was. All I knew was that I was incredibly upset with the ending of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. (Poor little Eva had no idea what was coming for her later that year when Deathly Hallows was released.)

I channeled all the hurt and rage I felt over Sirius Black’s death into writing Harry Potter 5.5, where it was revealed that when Sirius fell through that barrier in the Department of Mysteries he really just ended up in another dimension. (This idea may have been heavily influenced by Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series.)

I was completely dedicated to the idea. I even drew some very beautiful illustrations for it. Unfortunately, I have no idea where all that hard work ended up, because about a week later I moved on to my next project: A book about girls who talk to animals. (I do still have that if anyone is interested in seeing it.)

While I never finished my lovely Harry Potter fan fiction, or that book with the talking animals, I also never stopped writing. (Or got over Sirius Black’s death)

So, I’d like to dedicate this post (and hopefully all of my future best sellers) to JK Rowling, Phillip Pullman, Rick Riordan, and any other wonderful author who’s ever killed off a character I loved. Without you guys I might never have discovered my true passion.

Leave a Reply

