Harry Potter and the Amazing Family Bonding Session

Happy Wizarding Wednesday everybody!

Last Friday was 10 year anniversary of Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows. I honestly wouldn’t have remembered if John Green hadn’t tweeted about it, which is why this post is kind of late. Oh well.

I was very unprepared for the 10 year anniversary of Deathly Hallows. I was just scrolling innocently through twitter when, out of the freaking blue, I got hit with this monuments news, and suddenly I felt super old.

HOW IN THE WORLD HAS IT BEEN TEN YEARS?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

It may seem very strange that I’m freaking out about this so much, but Harry Potter was my childhood. It’s been TEN YEARS since one of my absolute favorite childhood memories.

Let me explain further…

I am incredibly lucky to have grown up with parents who support all of my passions, from music, to writing, to fandom. In fact, most of the things that I love were introduced to me by at least one of them.

My parent’s and I have been reading books together at bedtime since before I was born, which means I’m not actually sure how old I was the first time I read the first six Harry Potter books  because they were read out loud to me.

I do remember the first time I read Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows. I was six years old that summer, and it was pretty much the biggest moment of my entire life. I mean, the world went kind of insane.

I remember sitting in my grandparent’s living room, waiting for my parents to come home from the midnight release at our local Hastings (rip), watching the news coverage of celebrations happening all around the world.

The book came out on a Saturday, and my parents and I spent the next three to four days snuggled up on our sofa, reading the book together.

We took turns reading chapters out loud. We didn’t leave the house for anything, not even food. Our diet consisted mostly of leftover pizza. We only paused for bathroom breaks, sleep, and my emotional meltdown when Dobby died.

People talk about the amazing power of Harry Potter, and how it brings together people from all around the world, from all walks of life. I think that’s really amazing, but for me Harry Potter will always be about family.

Leave a Reply

