July 2017 Wrap Up

I cannot believe that July is almost over. At the beginning of the month I set myself a very ambitious TBR list, so I thought I’d  give you a quick update on my progress.

Unsurprisingly, I did not read every book on my TBR list.

Here’s what I did read this month:

  1. The Dream Thieves, Blue Lilly, Lilly Blue, and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 5/5

I started Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle last month and I had such a hard time getting anything else read because I was so obsessed with them.

I absolutely love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style. It’s the perfect balance of real and fantastical,

and I love how easily I get lost in the world she’s created inside our own.

I really just want to friends with Blue and her boys.

  1. A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Mass

Rating: 3/5

I had such a hard time getting into this book. The beginning of the story seemed to drag on forever. It wasn’t until about halfway through the book that I really started to care about what happened to Feyre.

I’m planning on finishing the series, but I’m not sure I’ll like it as much as I thought I would.

  1. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Rating: 5/5

I was absolutely blown away by how powerful this book is. It’s got a powerful message, and a wonderful cast of characters. It made me laugh and cry in the span of about an hour.

  1. Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

Rating: 5/5

Moxie doesn’t come out for another few months, but I was lucky enough to get my hands on an ARC. I mean, it’s a feminist novel that comes with a recommendation from Amy Pohler herself. What more could you ask for?

  1. Avatar: The Last Airbender – The Promise by Gene Yang

Rating: 5/5

Avatar: The Last Airbender is one of my favorite TV series of all time, and I’ve been wanting to read these comics for years. I was pleasantly surprised by how well they captured the essence of what I love about the series.

  1. Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughn

Rating: 4/5

Several people have recommended Saga to me recently, so I decided to check out Vol. 1. I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone who’s uncomfortable with more mature themes, but I was intrigued by the story. Looking forward to reading more.

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Rating: 5/5

Do I really need to explain?

So, that’s it for July. I hope you all had a wonderful month. I’ll need some reading recommendations for August, so let me know what you think I should read next.

Leave a Reply

