August 2017 TBR

A new month, a new pile of books for me to read. I raided my local library this weekend, so I’m pretty much set for the month. Heres what I’m hoping to get read in the month of August.

  1. Nemesis by Anna Banks

I’ve been hearing some pretty good things about this book recently, so I decided to pick it up. It’s a fantasy novel with an intriguing premise about a princess forced to the refuge in an enemy kingdom when her father tries to use her unusual powers as a weapon

“The King is her nemesis. Can she trust him – And her growing feelings for him?”

  1. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

This is another novel I’ve been hearing wonderful things about. It’s a contemporary novel about a girl named Jesse, who develops an email relationship with a mysterious stranger calling themselves Somebody/Nobody after moving across the country to Los Angeles.

  1. The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

This middle grade fantasy is supposed to be an absolutely beautifully written book. It sounds incredibly interesting. I mean, it’s about a swamp witch and the girl she raises as her daughter.

  1. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

This book comes highly recommended by my fellow Barnes and Noble reviewers. I always love a great pirate adventure, and a strong female character is always a plus, so I’m very excited to pick this one up.

  1. Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

I’m incredibly excited about this one, because it’s a novel about a gender fluid teen named Riley who write a blog about their personal experiences.

  1. The Book Jumper by Metchild Glaser

I honestly just picked this book up because of how pretty the cover is. It’s about a girl who can travel into books, which honestly sounds like a dream come true.

  1. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I’ve been hearing about this series for a long time, and I decided it’s finally time to see what the hype is all about.

  1. Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman

I read Seraphina, the first book in this series, last summer, and I absolutely loved it. It’s an incredibly unique take on one of my favorite mythical creatures: dragons.

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Another recommendation from my Barnes and Noble friends. I actually started this interesting Sci-Fi a while ago, but I never finished it. I love the unique writing style, so I’m excited to jump back in.

  1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This seems like everyone’s favorite contemporary romance, and I haven’t read it yet. Hopefully I’ll be changing that very soon.

  1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Another LGBTQ+ novel that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. I’ve been told it’ll probably make me cry, so I’m pretty excited.

 

What are you planing on reading this August? Have you read any of the books on my list? What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

