#ManCrushMonday: My Top Ten Boys From Books

I’m low key convinced that I’m super single because books have totally ruined men for me. You see, boys in real life are just super disappointing compared to boys in books. So, since I don’t have a real life #ManCrushModay I thought I’d share a list of the top ten boys from books I would totally date of they weren’t fictional and already in adorable committed relationships. I had to keep it to books (sorry Prince Zuko) or else this list would’ve been about a mile long. These are In no particular order of course, because I don’t really think I could rank them.

1. Harry Potter

What are they from?

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Why do I like them?

Harry James Potter is kind, humble, loyal, and brave. He doesn’t give up on the people, in fact, he’d do pretty much anything to protect the people he loves. He just wants to be a normal kid, but he’s willing to step up and be a leader because thats what people expect from him. He makes some stupid decisions sometimes, but it’s usually because he’s trying to do the right thing.

2. Mr. Darcy 

What are they from?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Why do I like them?

Lots of people think Mr. Darcy is a total jerk. They are wrong. Mr. Collins is a total jerk. Mr. Darcy is just incredibly proud, which makes him come across as rude as the beginning of the book. I like Mr. Darcy because when he gets called out for being rude, he immediately acknowledges his behavior and works to change it. I also like that he falls for Elizabeth’s mind and personality and not just for her looks. He treats her like an equal, which is something that can’t be said for some of today’s male leads.

3. Captain Carswell Thorne

What are they from?

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Why do I like them?

Let’s be honest, I basically have a crush on the entire cast of characters from TLC, but Carswell Thorne might be my favorite. He is such an incredibly flawed character, and I love him for it. He doesn’t think he’s a good person, but he wants to be, which is whats really important. He’s incredibly confident, which can make him come across as cocky and self centered, but he’d really do anything for his friends. Especially Cress. He’s incredibly protective of her and I think it’s the sweetest thing ever.

4. Levi Stewart 

What are they from?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Why do I like them?

Levi is unflinchingly optimistic and loyal. He’s not into books at all because he has double reading, but that doesn’t stop him from totally supporting Cath’s passions for writing and Simon Snow. As someone with a huge passion for books and writing, I’d kill to have a boyfriend as supportive as Levi is.

5. Percy Jackson

What are they from?

Pretty much everything Rick Riordan writes tbh

Why do I like them?

I like Percy for most of the same reasons I like Harry. He’s loyal, kind, brave, and he always steps up and tries his hardest to save the day. Percy is also absolutely hilarious and relatable.  I would never actually go after Percy though, because there is nobody he belongs with more than Annabeth.

6. Carter Kane

What are they from?

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

Why do I like them?

Rick Riordan is very good at writing boys (and characters in general) for me to fall in love with. When I was younger I had the biggest crush on Carter because he was one of the first male characters I’d read about who liked to read and learn about things. He’s also super heroic and a wonderful brother to boot. What’s not to love?

7. Prince Kai 

What are they from?

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Why do I like them?

Prince Kai is just the sweetest, dorkiest, most hopeless romantic ever. I mean, he holds on to Cinder’s dirty old foot because it gives him hope and reminds him of her. (I realize that sounds really creepy out of context, but I promise you it’s super cute in the series.)

8. Remus Lupin 

What are they from?

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Why do I like them?

It might seem unwise to have a huge crush on Remus Lupin, him being a werewolf and all, but I  don’t think I’d like him so much if he weren’t a werewolf. I’m not saying that in a Twilight “Oh werewolves are so sexy” kind of way. No, I like Remus Lupin because, despite all the terrible things he’s been through, he’s still an incredibly good person. (Unlike some slimy potions professors I could name.)

9. Clark McCallister 

What are they from?

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Why do I like them?

I said I’d kill to have a boyfriend who supports my writing passion, but why not go one even better? Why not someone who shares that passion with me? Clark McCallister is an adorable nerd who also happens to be a bestselling fantasy author. *swoon*

10. Richard Gansey III

What are they from? 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Why do I like them? 

Gansey is probably my newest fictional crush. He’s incredibly loyal both to his friends and to his search for Glendower. I’m a hufflepuff, so is it really surprising that I value loyalty in my bookish crushes?  I also really like how he sees magic in everything.

 

So those are the boys in books that I absolutely adore. Do you also have a crush on any of these fictional cuties? Want to fangirl over them together? Think I left someone out? Leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “#ManCrushMonday: My Top Ten Boys From Books

Leave a Reply

